Allergens are substances that produce varied symptoms in allergy patients. Some (such as eggs or gluten-containing wheat flour) are also found in cakes. What do allergy patients need to know about allergens in cakes? This article summarizes. Can you go into a pastry store and buy a cake without being concerned? Or how about making a cake? This is more difficult for allergy patients since they must anticipate that the sweet baked items include allergens. As a result, confectioners and bakers must additionally display a list of allergies and additives.

Possible allergens in cakes:

Milk and milk-related items, Nuts, Cereals containing gluten such as wheat and Eggs

Lactose intolerance and cow's milk allergy are becoming more common. Lactose intolerance occurs when the body is unable to break down milk sugar owing to an enzyme deficiency. Milk allergy (also known as milk protein allergy) is a "real" food allergy that is induced by allergenic components in milk protein. As a result, milk must be recognized as a food component on the label. Cake may contain milk in its purest form, as well as cream or butter/margarine.

Nuts can be added to the cake, but they are also found in goods like chocolate. Treenuts are one group of allergens that must be listed on product packaging. Nuts include not only the popular hazelnut, but also almonds, coconuts, walnuts, pistachios, pecans, and cashews.

Gluten-containing cereals (wheat, rye, barley, oats, spelt, etc.) and items produced from them are allergens that must be labelled.

Gluten intolerance is a hot topic right now (celiac disease). Food producers, as well as legislators, have been made aware of this, particularly in recent years. Gluten-containing products must bear a warning label. Foods that do not contain gluten can be labeled with the crossed-out ear of corn symbol. This marking is not necessary for items that are inherently gluten-free, such as rice or maize. Gluten enters the cake via wheat flour, but also via barley or spelt flour, for example.

Egg-containing products might cause severe reactions in allergy patients. As a result, eggs constitute a notifiable allergy. They are used as a binding agent in chocolate and in the making of dough. The egg contains numerous allergens, including ovomucoid, ovoalbumin, ovotransferrin, and lysozyme C.

How can consumers get information?

The 14 most common allergenic substances are required to be labeled in the UK, EU, the United States, and a few other countries. 

“May include traces of nuts,” many containers also state. This indicates that, while the meal was made without nuts, it is possible that it was contaminated with nuts owing to the manufacturing circumstances. This declaration, however, is optional and not specifically defined.

These ingredients replace allergens

Fortunately, allergy sufferers do not have to forego the joy of cake. On the one hand, there are recipes for allergen-free sweet baked items, such as wheat flour and milk-free cakes. Ingredients such as eggs in the dough, on the other hand, can be replaced with flaxseed or chia seeds. These chemicals have a binding effect as well. So there are methods to make allergy sufferers – both young and elderly – happy on their birthday.

Please ask a member of staff if you have an allergy or buying a cake for someone.